The property's structure epitomises its original purpose, with its thick walls and deep embrasures with arrow slits to resist attack. Over the years, mullion windows were added and eventually some windows enlarged with decorative stained glass. Its impressive stone façade, its original stone staircase with steps worn through the centuries and its carved period doors serve as testament to its authenticity.
The chateau has a long and interesting history having frequently been used as a hunting lodge by Henri IV, who became king of France in 1589. The original entrance is found on the east façade and there is thought to be an underground tunnel connecting the chateau to the village in the valley below. Of particular interest are carvings within the stonework. The coat of arms over the doorway reads 'Wisdom starts with a fear of Jean de Gère'. On a gentler note, another stone carving on the mullion window, in one of the bedrooms, is a love note from a certain Rachel de Gère reading "nothing is impossible" with two interwoven hearts.
This magnificent medieval building has been sympathetically restored to retain its period character whilst offering modern day comforts.