A beautifully presented Grade II listed house in a mature rural setting.
Sitting room, play room
Lovely family kitchen and garden room
Utility and Cloakroom
Principal bedroom with ensuite bathroom
Three further bedrooms and family bathroom
Garage and outbuildings
lovely gardens in all 0.7 acres.
Ascott Park was a large house built in 1660 by
Sir William Dormer, but it was destroyed by
fire in 1662. In the park are the remnants of the
formal layout with avenues of lime trees and
two small octagonal buildings, one an ice house
and the other a dovecote, both in the Tudor
style. Ascott Park Farm Cottage is believed to
originate from the 16th Century and has been
added to and altered over the years. Built
mainly of brick and stone under a tiled roof,
the house and stone garden wall are Listed
Grade II. The house enjoys a rural setting and
all rooms benefit from an attractive outlook
over the garden and the surrounding parkland,
farmland, and woodland. The house has in more
recent years been extensively refurbished to
create a lovely family home, while at the same
time retaining its period charm and character.
A particular feature of the house is a large
inglenook fireplace in the stunning kitchen/
dining room which is believed to date from 1620.
The first floor comprises a master bedroom
suite with three further bedrooms and a family
To the front is a gravelled courtyard with parking for several cars. There is a brick and slate outbuilding with two loose boxes, but currently used for wood storage, and a separate garage.
The main garden lies to the south and east of the house and is mainly walled. The south boundary is fenced and overlooks woodland. Mostly laid to lawn and interspersed with flower and herbaceous borders, there is a patio area, and on the east side is a formal walled garden. In all about 0.7 acres.