At the foot of the Acropolis, Agnes is a truly unique building in the heart of Athens historic centre.
Built in 1837, on the site of Hadrian’s Library which was created by the Roman Emperor Hadrian in AD 132, Agnes is a rarely listed neoclassical building with great historical significance. The ruins of the library remain in the basement to this day.
The Roman Emperor Hadrian often visited Athens and had a special love for the arts and culture that it offered to the world. In addition to the Library, the emperor built other buildings, expanded the Roman Forum, built Hadrian’s Gate and completed the construction of the column of Olympian Zeus.
In 267 CE the Library was destroyed during the raid of Heruli. The remains were incorporated into the late roman wall. In the christian period, three churches were successively built.
Agnes is one of the first buildings built in Athens after its designation as the capital of the Greek State. It was built in 1837 accommodating the hotel “AEOLOS” which was one of the first Athenian hotels in the capital.
This is a building reminiscent of the folk houses of Plaka and apart from its unique historical value, it also has interesting aesthetic elements such as the simple marble balcony with the helical furrows.
The building, of approximately 1080sqm, can be fully renovated to become a unique private mansion or an exceptional atmospheric gallery or museum.
The building consists of the ground floor of 450sqm with access to a small courtyard and the 1st floor of 333 sqm. In the basement, significant monuments, such as columns, slabs, inscriptions and an ancient well, were discovered by archaeologists and permission has been granted for the findings to remain at the property on the condition that they will be preserved and highlighted with glass floors and lighting.
Additionally, there is also a remaining building permit of approximately 100sqm to expand the first floor and create a breathtaking rooftop with direct views of the Acropolis (as seen in photo no.19).
Agnes is classified as a Historical Preserved Monument and in 2009 significant works were carried out for the maintenance and static reinforcement of the building which have all been approved by the Central Council of Modern Monuments.
Today all of the perimeter and interior masonry walls have been reinforced with double sided concrete mantles. The original floors of the building have been dismantled and replaced with strong wooden beams which sit on the reinforced perimeter masonry. Eventually, the wooden floors and false ceiling will be based on these wooden beams.
The roof of the two storey part of the building has been replaced, keeping the same form and geometry as the original, and has been covered with Byzantian roof tiles. The roof frame of the one storey section has been replaced with new wooden beams.